your home away from home


THE CASTLE OF VOLOS, in today’s Palaia district, was built in the middle of the 6th century AD. In the same district one can also admire the impressive Roman Baths

The Park of Anauros, which hosts representative examples of modern sculpture that were created during a symposium of artists-sculptors in 1988

The House with the rose, at the intersection of Anthimou Gazi and Vlahava streets, where the painter Chrysoula Zogia lived

Goritsa, a low hill 200m high with an amazing view of Pagasitikos gulf

The Volos Railway Station was built in 1884 by the Italian engineer Evaristo de Chirico, father of the great painter Giorgio de Chirico.

The city’s Museum tells the story of Volos and the refugees of Nea Ionia through rare photographic material and objects. It is a model of its kind in Greece and awarded by the Benaki Museum

The Athanasakeion Archaeological Museum of Volos includes finds from the wider area of ​​Magnesia

The Museum of Natural History of Volos houses rocks, minerals and fossils

The Giorgio de Chirico Art Center with frequent thematic exhibitions and permanent collection

The Museum of Industrial History, in the old premises of the Tsalapata brick-ceramic factory, includes craft workshops, exhibitions, small shops with traditional products, exhibition spaces, a library and recreational areas

The Kitsou Makri Folklore Center houses the house of the famous folklorist

The Entomological Museum, unique of its kind in Greece

The Typographic Museum of THESSALIA newspaper

The Railway Museum of Thessaly


Agios Konstantinos with its elaborate architecture, built on the beach of Volos is a reference point of the modern city

The Nativity of the Virgin is a picturesque church inside a cave and is located at the foot of Goritsa

The metropolitan church of the city is Agios Nikolaos designed by Ar. Zachos in 1934 and hosts in its forecourt the old bell tower, the work of the Italian sculptor Previsan in 1884

The castle of Volos was built in the middle of the 6th century AD in the current district of Palaia


In the city of Argonauts, there is no way you won’t come across a tsipouradiki. From Anavros to Nea Ionia and from Ano Volos to the beach, around 600 tsipouradi shops give the city its culinary stamp and are the most popular meeting place for locals and visitors. This habit started in the 19th century from the refugees of Asia Minor and from the need of those who were workers in the port to drink a tsipouraki after a long day.

Today the grills, pans, and pots are fired up and an endless variety of well-cooked appetizers arrive at the table by the dozen, different with each order.


The area of ​​Volos gathers some of the most important Neolithic sites both for Greek data and for the Balkans. Archaeological excavations have brought to light more than 40 Neolithic settlements (8th-7th millennium BC) with the main ones being Sesklos and Dimini, while several of them continued to exist in the Bronze Age (3000-1500 BC) . Important Mycenaean sites are the current district of Volos Palia, the hill of Agioi Theodoros and Pefkakia.

IKIES 3 are located within the major archaeological site of Dimitrias which is in conjunction with the Museum of Volos. The important prehistoric settlements of Dinion and Sesklos and the historical center of Volos on the hill of Palaion ensures a complete picture of the historical development of the place, offering a complete experience to their visitors.

The ancient Dimitriada is located in an area of ​​particular natural beauty, next to the port, very close to the ancient sites of Palea, Sesklos and Dimini and on the road network which crosses the ancient city passing east of its theater and intersecting the axis of the aqueduct.

It was built by Dimitrios the Besieger at the beginning of the 3rd century. BC, it was the second capital of the Macedonian state, the place where the third Macedonian Palace was founded, which, together with the Theater and the open monuments of the wall and the Aqueduct, can be visited with free admission.

A few meters beyond IKIES 3, in Pefkakia, it is believed that the port of Iolkos used to function, which has been linked to the mythological cycle of the Argonautic expedition, that is, to the place where the ship was built and from where the ARGO sailed.